Wednesday, March 25, 2026

Race #1 of the Season: Icebreaker Sprint Duathlon

... did I hope to train better for this this year? Yes. Did I? Clearly not.

Did it still go surprisingly well? Apparently.

So I actually got my new tri bike in like four days before the race, but I still need to fit it to me (and build it officially), so I decided this race would be my last one on Sweet Cheeks. 

icebreaker_du
It's been a wonderful 13 years, bike.

Like always, there were very few of us racing the duathlon - four total. Unlike usual, it was warm. It's been stupidly warm here all winter and I didn't even bother with arm warmers, much less the jacket I needed last year.

The Bike:

I recognized the older guy racing; he also recognized me. As per usual, he went off quickly while I did my best to settle in, knowing that I probably haven't climbed significant hills on my bike since I raced this race the year prior. 

And yeah, the uphills sucked just as much, though I was able to power through.

icebreaker_du2
Going out on loop two. Look! No layers!

First loop was nice and quiet; second dealt with people coming on from the triathlon. I ate a few maple candies on the second loop, dealt with people who don't know how to properly share space on a race course, the usual.

I had no idea if my time was good or bad or whatever; I just rode.

Time: 45:33

T:

Quicker than the year prior due to not needing to peel myself out of layers, which was nice, but still not fast.

Time: 1:50

The Run:

... so I apparently don't remember how to race (or, more accurately, use my Garmin), because I realized like a half mile in (maybe?) that I was still technically in the bike screen for my multisport. So I fiddled around with that on one of the big hills (I've learned my mistakes - I walk them and don't try to run them anymore). Eventually, I figured it out and got back on track.

However, not having figured it out until decently into the run means I have no idea if the course is still technically short. I'm guessing yes since they changed the location of the finish line slightly ... which also shortened the very end somewhat.

Still, I was able to run ... okay, not great once I didn't have to deal with the dumb hills anymore. I also did eat a few more maple candies. 

Time: 33:40

Overall Stats:
Time: 1:21:03.81
1/2 gender
2/4 overall

That 1 of 2 clearly means another default podium for meeeeee.

icebreaker_du3

However, in looking at my stats from the previous years ... this was somehow my fastest year of the three. Run was a minute faster year one (transition was quicker too), but my mishap on the bike course kept it longer. So even though it was due to user error that year, it's kind of nice knowing that Sweet Cheeks's last race ended up being my fastest bike of the three.

I love this little local race and even though there's rarely anyone racing the du, I hope they continue to keep the option. Especially when I learned that a lot of people end up walking the (pool) swim. 

No comments:

Post a Comment