Wednesday, March 25, 2026

Race #1 of the Season: Icebreaker Sprint Duathlon

... did I hope to train better for this this year? Yes. Did I? Clearly not.

Did it still go surprisingly well? Apparently.

So I actually got my new tri bike in like four days before the race, but I still need to fit it to me (and build it officially), so I decided this race would be my last one on Sweet Cheeks. 

icebreaker_du
It's been a wonderful 13 years, bike.

Like always, there were very few of us racing the duathlon - four total. Unlike usual, it was warm. It's been stupidly warm here all winter and I didn't even bother with arm warmers, much less the jacket I needed last year.

The Bike:

I recognized the older guy racing; he also recognized me. As per usual, he went off quickly while I did my best to settle in, knowing that I probably haven't climbed significant hills on my bike since I raced this race the year prior. 

And yeah, the uphills sucked just as much, though I was able to power through.

icebreaker_du2
Going out on loop two. Look! No layers!

First loop was nice and quiet; second dealt with people coming on from the triathlon. I ate a few maple candies on the second loop, dealt with people who don't know how to properly share space on a race course, the usual.

I had no idea if my time was good or bad or whatever; I just rode.

Time: 45:33

T:

Quicker than the year prior due to not needing to peel myself out of layers, which was nice, but still not fast.

Time: 1:50

The Run:

... so I apparently don't remember how to race (or, more accurately, use my Garmin), because I realized like a half mile in (maybe?) that I was still technically in the bike screen for my multisport. So I fiddled around with that on one of the big hills (I've learned my mistakes - I walk them and don't try to run them anymore). Eventually, I figured it out and got back on track.

However, not having figured it out until decently into the run means I have no idea if the course is still technically short. I'm guessing yes since they changed the location of the finish line slightly ... which also shortened the very end somewhat.

Still, I was able to run ... okay, not great once I didn't have to deal with the dumb hills anymore. I also did eat a few more maple candies. 

Time: 33:40

Overall Stats:
Time: 1:21:03.81
1/2 gender
2/4 overall

That 1 of 2 clearly means another default podium for meeeeee.

icebreaker_du3

However, in looking at my stats from the previous years ... this was somehow my fastest year of the three. Run was a minute faster year one (transition was quicker too), but my mishap on the bike course kept it longer. So even though it was due to user error that year, it's kind of nice knowing that Sweet Cheeks's last race ended up being my fastest bike of the three.

I love this little local race and even though there's rarely anyone racing the du, I hope they continue to keep the option. Especially when I learned that a lot of people end up walking the (pool) swim. 

Wednesday, March 4, 2026

February Round Up

... some progress. Some.

Swimming: 2100m (1.3 mi)
Cycling: 18.74 mi
Running: 18.77 mi
Lifting: 14 sessions (3:44)
Other: six sessions hockey (6:22), one day skiing (2:39), 27 walks (18:53)

The bad news regarding swimming is I still only went twice. The good news is that I swam more.

Regarding everything else ... February started off a little rough with a small trip, it settled in nicely ... and then fell apart. Partially due to an unexpected trip back home to deal with family stuff where a harmless day trip turned into a looooooong evening at the airport thanks to weather delays and cancellations. That was the one day I missed my walk, too.

The strength numbers went up in terms of sessions due to finding a few separate mobility programs - the time of each shoulder or hip session is short, but we all know I could use more mobility in everything, so whatever. That ends this week, though, so I need to get back into regular strength training. Badly.

March is bringing a duathlon, so if anything, the bike numbers should definitely improve. My new bike is also scheduled to come in ... hopefully before that ... so maybe that will also motivate me?

I'm trying. I feel like I'm failing most of the time, but I am trying.

Wednesday, February 4, 2026

January Round Up

Well, the start to the year was a touch rough due to travel and time zones and whatnot, but it wasn't terrible. I've had worse, let's just say that.

And on a side note ... BeginnerTriathlete, which I'd been using to log my stuff digitally forever, recently ceased, so my numbers (particularly the time ones) might be the slightest bit off thanks to having to calculate everything by hand.

I'm just grateful that I've always kept physical training logs, too.

Swimming: 1700m (1.06 mi)
Cycling: 16.99 mi
Running:  14.39 mi
Lifting: eleven sessions (2:20)
Other: six sessions hockey (6:03), 31 walks (17:19)

The pool at my regular gym is FINALLY back open after a long renovation, so let's pray it stays that way. Swimming, however, still remains the hardest to get back to ... though cycling is following behind it. However, I did actually get back on my trainer for the first time in almost a year so hooray for that?

I finally started running again (after taking most of December off for illness) a few days into January and was consistent with it until a minor slip the last week. But still, I'll take it.

I need to figure out a way to lift regularly and consistently at home that's not with a program that requires five or more days per week, because I'm just not back to that point yet.

Hockey season continues (though we have an "Olympic break" of our own thanks to the Super Bowl and then President's Day back-to-back weekends) and the goal of walking at least a mile every day has been successful.

Hoping for a higher numbers in the main three (plus lifting) for February despite the shorter month ...

Friday, January 9, 2026

2026 Goals

... truth be told, I wonder if I should even set 2026 goals given that I failed SO HORRIBLY at the one goal I had set out for myself last year, which was to end the year feeling better and stronger than when I started it.

Yeah. That happened.

But something needs to change. And badly.

Especially because any base-building that I should have been starting for Roth? Hasn't happened. And the loose logistics I started looking into in late September-early October spiked my anxiety horribly, realizing that I'm already so incredibly behind. So, I've made the tough decision to defer the race a year. Yes, it means I won't be racing on my birthday, but that's okay. Even better, probably, since I can in theory enjoy the day in success. And I can figure out the logistics (and lodging and whether I'll need to rent a car and actually TALK TO PEOPLE WHO HAVE RACED IT BEFORE) well ahead of time. Because racing a 140.6 is hard; racing it in a different country where you don't speak the language? Yeah. A whole 'nother level of fun.

But. I did register for USAT Sprint Nationals.

I don't know if I mentioned it here or not, but Brineman was a USAT regional championship and a few months after the race, I got an email saying I qualified for USAT Nationals - sprint and Olympic, but I don't like the Olympic distance. I initially thought oh fuck no, but after dwelling on it ... it probably is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for my slow(er) ass, so I bit the bullet.

So the plan (goal, if you will) for this year? Get back into the routine of swim/bike/run. Focus on getting some speed back, and then, post-nats, work on getting my endurance back for Roth. Because speed is necessary for Roth given the shorter time cut.

I did actually sketch out a few official fitness-y goals, and they are:
- perform one pull-up
- perform 10 strict push-ups
- run a sub-10 5K again (stretch: sub-9)
- finish above 75% (have 25% of the field below me) at sprint nats (because if I go, I don't want to embarrass myself)

And definitely be a healthier version of myself at the end of the year. Because this? Is unsustainable.

Wednesday, January 7, 2026

December and 2025 Round Up

... I don't even want to write this post if that tells you anything.

Swimming: 0m (0mi)
Cycling: 0m
Running: 9.92 mi
Lifting: eight sessions (3:32)
Other: one session ARCTrainer (:15), six sessions hockey (5:47), one session ice skating (:20), seven walks (3:04)

Terrible month to cap off a terrible year. I also did get sick - I felt it coming in early December and I told myself I just had to get through Goal Digger (mid-December hockey tournament). Well, I played that tournament sick and then proceeded to take basically the rest of the month off due to being sick. Of which I still kind of am (but almost better).

This is the worst year of swim mileage - by far - since I've started seriously tracking things. Actually ... probably the worst year with everything.

So it's no surprise that I tumbled even further from where I was at the end of last year. I thought I was in the worst shape of my life then? 2025 decided to take that as a challenge, apparently.

In that sense, December was a perfect microcosm of the year - complete fucking trash.

Wednesday, December 3, 2025

November Round Up

November, as always, was filled with some ups and some downs.

Swimming: 700m (.43)
Cycling: 13.22 mi
Running: 26.53 mi
Lifting: 12 sessions (4:34)
Other: six sessions hockey (5:57), 30 walks (13:21)

For traveling most of the first half of the month, I'm not terribly upset. Swimming was low because, well, it's swimming, but I was also waiting to head to the pool for when B was home since we had to refigure out our membership through the weird program we have through his insurance. Should I have swum more? Oh absolutely yes.

Same with cycling. I can use the excuse that it got cold ... but that's what I have a trainer for.

Running, however - I continued with my every-other-day roll even WITH the travel and officially had my highest mileage month yet. Yes, at 26 miles.

I finished up my lifting challenge ... and then promptly pretty much stopped, so I started a new one at the end of the month (which I'm still doing).

Hockey season is still rolling for me and my friend Tarsh with Stomp the Pedal did a November walking challenge so instead of 1k/day or 30 minutes, I chose a mile/day. And successfully managed.

Given the abysmal swimming and cycling numbers - and already some logistical problems - I'm making the tough decision to pull out of Roth and defer it until 2027 (which I can do). I need to do a lot more research in terms of hotels and how to manage the race site - which is only made more difficult by it being in another country with a language that did not go so well when I attempted to learn it - and I'm already so behind the 8-ball with that.

And I really do need to figure out my shit. And since I'm essentially going from couch-to-140.6 again ... seven months isn't enough to get myself faster than I've ever been.

So, I'm being smart. I may, however, sign up for USAT Sprint Nationals, since I apparently qualified at Brineman. So there's that.

Wednesday, November 12, 2025

October Round Up

... was October better than September? Some.

Swimming: 1800m (1.12 mi)
Cycling: 22.33 mi
Running: 19.27 mi
Lifting: 19 sessions (6:17)
Other: two hikes (1:19), six sessions hockey (5:50), 17 walks (7:33)

Doubled swimming. That's starting to be a pain in the ass since the pool at my regular gym seems to be CONSTANTLY down for maintenance, but I try my best to still go.

Cycling ... is interesting. Especially because I need to figure out the saddle on my tri bike again.

Running ... well, I'm forcing myself to try to run a little longer and I'm currently back on my every-other-day roll (which I really do have to try to keep up so I DON'T QUIT).

Lifting was good. I actually threw myself into a tiny lifting challenge just to get myself back into it which was good.

As for the rest ... got out and leaf peeped a little. Hockey season is definitely in full swing. And the weather finally got good enough (and less buggy) to start walking again. 

November has started off ... okay. Already some slipping. But the first two weeks have also been RIDICULOUS (which is why this is late)(and it still continues through the rest of this week). But hopefully things can settle down a bit over the last two weeks. Hopefully.